(Delta State Independent Electoral Commission)
Constitutionally responsible for organising, conducting and supervising all elections into the offices of Chairmen and Councillors in Delta State Local Government Councils

Who We Are

Section 197 sub-section 1(b) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of  Nigerian 1999 (as amended) stipulates that every state of the Federation shall establish an Independent Electoral Commission to organise elections into its local government councils.
In pursuance of the forgoing constitutional provision, the Delta State House of Assembly passed a Bill which was assented to by His Excellency, Chief James Onanefe Ibori, Governor of Delta State (1999-2007). Thus establishing the Delta State Independent Electoral Commission (DSIEC). The Commission was inaugurated on 15th October, 1999.

It comprises a Chairman who is the Chief Independent Electoral Commissioner and the Chief Executive Officer of the Commission and six Members known as Independent Electoral Commissioners. A major shift in the composition of the Commission was, with the amendment of the Delta State Independent Electoral Commission Law in 2012 and assented to by His Excellency Dr. Emmanuel Eweta Uduaghan (CON), the Governor of Delta (2007-present), the chairmanship of the Commission ceased to be the preserve of only retired High Court Judges. Mr. Akpoyoma Moses Abo Ogbe, the immediate past Chairman of DSIEC became the first DSIEC Chairman who is not a retired High Court Judge.

While Chief (Barr) Mike Ogbodu (CP rtd), the current DSIEC Chairman is the second Chairman that is not a retired High Court Judge.

There is also a Secretary who is a senior-cadre public servant, permanent secretary equivalent. He heads and administers the Commission's secretariat and he is the Chief Accounting Officer of the Commission.

The Commission has offices in all the 25 Local Government Areas in the State and each is headed by a Chief Electoral Officer.

The Commission's secretariat is presently organised into the following departments:

“To conduct elections to the offices of chairmen and councillors and delineate wards as and when necessary in the local government council areas of Delta State in an atmosphere of civic freedom devoid of all forms of dysfunctional behaviours.”

“To be foremost grassroots election management body committed to conducting trustworthy elections.”

 The Commission

The Chairman, Six (6) Members and Secretary

Delta State Local Government General Election

Delta State Independent Electoral Commission fix 6th January, 2018 to be the date for Local Government General Elections in Delta State

Delta State has 25 Local Government Councils

466 Wards and 3,624 Polling Units